JEE Advanced Eligibility Criteria 2019: Qualification, Age Limit

JEE Advanced

The conducting authority of JEE Advanced Eligibility Criteria will release soon. JEE Advanced is the gateway to get admission in UG and PG Courses in engineering fields, architecture, science or pharmaceutical offered by IITs (Indian Institute of Technology) and ISM (Indian School ofMines Dhanbad). JEE Advanced is the top level engineering entrance examination which is conducted by one of the IITs on a rotational basis. In this year IIT Roorkee under the supervision of the Joint Admission Board. Candidates who are wishing to apply for JEE Advanced, they need to check the eligibility criteria before applying. In this article, you will get complete information about Advanced Eligibility Criteria 2019.

JEE Advanced Eligibility 2019

Aspirants who have cleared JEE Main Examination and are eligible or have checked their eligibility criteria can fill JEE Advanced 2019 application form. Here we have listed major criteria for applying for JEE Advanced Examination:

[wpshortcodead id=”fyuma5bb4cbc0bb071″]


  • Candidates who are an Indian citizen and OCI & PIO candidates can apply.

Number of Attempts:

  • Candidates can take it maximum two times with consecutive years.

Age Criteria:

  • Age Limit: Candidates who born on or after 1st October 1994 (for general candidates) and 1st October 1989 (for SC/ST & PwD candidates).

JEE Main Performance Eligibility Criteria 2019:

  • Candidates who secured the position in top 2,24,000 (including all categories) in JEE Main 2019 Paper-1, Can apply for JEE Advanced 2019.
  • The category wise percentage are: 27% for OBC-NCL, 15% for SC, 7.5% for ST and the remaining 50.5% is OPEN for all. Within each of these four categories, 5% more horizontal reservation is available for PwD candidates.

The authority will follow the following order for selecting top 2,24,000 candidates in various categories:

Order Category Number of “Top” Candidates Total
1 OPEN 1,07,464 1,13,120
2 OPEN-PwD 5,656
3 OBC-NCL 57,456 60,480
4 OBC-NCL-PwD 3,024
5 SC 31,920 33,600
6 SC-PwD 1,680
7 ST 15,960 16,800
8 ST-PwD 840

Performance in Class 12th (or Equivalent):

  • Candidates must appear in class 12th or equivalent examination at the first time in the year 2018 or 2019.
  • Candidates who appear in the 12th examination at 2016-17 academics years and their result declared after June 2017 can apply.
  • Candidates must be secured in 12th examination or equivalent qualifying examination 75% for General category and 65% for SC/ST category from their respective recognized boards.
  • If above-given criteria not fulfilled then candidates must be in top 20% candidates list in their respective boards.
  • The blow listed five subjects will be considered while calculating the aggregate marks and cut-off marks for fulfilling the top 20 percentile criterion:
    (a) Physics
    (b) Chemistry
    (c) Mathematics
    (d) A Language
    (e) Any subject (other than four above-mentioned subjects).
  • Every time the marks aggregate will find out from the 100. If in case any subjects do not contain 100 marks then marks aggregate percentage will be scalable.
  • If candidates will get grading marks (Grading Format) in their qualifying examination then those candidates need to obtains obtain a certificate from the respective Board which is specifying the equivalent marks. Candidates need to carry or submit this certification at the time of acceptance of the allocated seat. If such board or university not providing these certificates then the final decision will be taken by the Joint Implementation Committee of JEE (Advanced) 2018 will be final.
  • If in case of candidates final year diploma subjects not containing Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, and Language for evaluating the final year marks(e.g., in a 3-year diploma course), then the mark for the same subject are obtains from the previous year/s which will be used for calculating the percentage of aggregate marks.
  • Those who have passed their qualifying examination in 2018 but appearing for improvement in 2019 then the performance will obtain of such candidates from the best performance out of both these will be considered.
  • In case of 3-year diploma or equivalent courses, marks scored in the final year will be considered. Similarly, for Boards which follow a semester system, the marks scored in the final two semesters will be considered.
  • Candidates who are appearing for improvement in any subjects of the 12th class which he/she already passed in 2018 session then their marks percentage will be evaluated by considering the maximum marks obtained in the required subjects.

Earlier Admission at IITs:

  • Candidates who already enrolled in somewhere in an IIT/ISM in his previous session, are not eligible to appear the JEE Advanced. Candidates who already accepted any seat in IIT/ISM by reporting at the reporting center. Any candidates who got disqualification from the IIT and ISM, cannot apply for JEE Advanced 2019.
  • Those who attempted earlier in 2018, JEE Advanced Can apply for JEE Advanced 2019 as well.
  • Candidates who have not accepted the seats or pay the acceptance fee can also apply for JEE Advanced.

Qualification Exam which will be considered as Equivalent to 12th Standard

Here Aspirants can get the complete information about Qualification Exam which will be considered as Equivalent to12th Standard

  • Senior Secondary or 12th Standard examination which is conducted by a Central or State Board recognized by the Association of Indian Universities (AIU).
  • Two-year Pre-University examination or Intermediate Examination which is conducted by a Board or University recognized by the AIUs.
  • Joint Services Wing of the National Defence Academy’s 12th Standard Examination.
  • NIOS (National Institute of Open Schooling) 12th certification or exam with a minimum of five subjects.
  • Institute which is associated with the AIU system i.e. Any Public School, Board or University examination in India or in a foreign country recognized as equivalent to the qualifying examination.
  • All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) or a State Board of Technical Education’s 3 Year Diploma Course is also equivalent to the qualifying examination.
  • In London, Cambridge and Sri Lanka’s Advance Level (A) General Certificate Education (GCE) examination is also equivalent to the qualifying examination.
  • Cambridge University’s Higher Secondary Degree or International Baccalaureate Diploma of the International Baccalaureate Office, Geneva.
  • If in case candidates who passed their qualifying examination outside India then, in this case, they need to show their passing certification from the AIU subjects which are equivalent to the 12th standard.
  • If a candidate who passed earlier his board or pre-university level examination from the recognized board or university or 12th standard is not public examination then it will work.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *