SSC CGL Exam Pattern 2020

By | June 13, 2020
SSC CGL Exam Pattern

The Staff Selection Commission Combined Graduate Level Exam (SSC CGL) is a national level exam held each year for recruiting graduate candidates for various posts in the central government’s ministries and departments. It is a government exam and requires a lot of preparation. Therefore the candidate must know the paper pattern thoroughly. In this article, you will get complete information regarding the SSC CGL Exam Pattern.

SSC CGL Exam Pattern

  • The exam is conducted by the Staff Selection Commission (SSC) which works as an attached office of the Department of Personnel and training, the government of India.
  • From being a 200 question 2 hours test the Tier 1 of the exam has now become a 1 Hour 100 question test.
  • These 100 questions are divided into four sections of 25 questions each.
  • The four sections of 25 questions, namely quantitative ability, English and comprehension, Reasoning and intelligence, and General awareness have equal weightage in terms of marks.
  • The interview stage of the exam has now been done away with as well.
  • SSC CGL 2020 would be a multiple tier selection examinations with the first two tiers being objective and the third and fourth being a descriptive and skill-based test.
  • Tier 1 exam would be the preliminary stage of selection and would involve qualification for Tier 2 of the examination.
  • The tier 2 exam comprises of four papers of MCQ type to be held in online mode. Only those candidates who qualify the SCC CGL 2020 Tier 1 exam are allowed to take the SSC CGL 2020 Tier 2 exam.
  • Out of four papers in tier 2 Paper 3 (Statistics) and Paper, 4 (Finance and Economics) are to be taken by only those candidates who have applied for the post of Statistical Investigator and Assistant Audit Officer respectively.
  • Paper 1 (Quantitative ability) and Paper 2 (English and comprehension) are to be taken by all the candidates irrespective of their post preference.
  • Two marks are awarded for each correct answer (Except English Paper in Tier-2) whereas 1/4th of assigned marks are deducted for a wrong one in both the Tiers.

Pattern Highlights 

Candidates who are willing to appear for SSC CGL 2020 exam should make themselves aware of the exam pattern, mode of exam, marking scheme of the exam, and other such information related to the exam. For your reference and assistance, we have tabled that information below.

Exam Mode Online (For Tier-1 and Tier-2)/Offline (Tier-3)
Number of Papers 2
Number of Sections 4 in Tier-1 (quantitative ability, English and comprehension, Reasoning and intelligence, and General awareness)
Question Paper Type Objective type (Tier-1 and Tier-2)/Descriptive (Tier-3)
Total marks 200 Marks (Tier-1)/400 Marks (Tier-2)/100 Marks (Tier-3)
Exam Duration 1 hour (Tier-1)/2 hour (For Each Paper of Tier-2)/1 Hour (Tier-3)
Language of question paper Both English and Hindi

Exam Pattern in Detail

SSC CGL 2020 exam would be conducted in a sequential manner with each stage being an eliminating one. Candidates would be required to secure minimum qualifying marks in order to progress towards the next phase of the examination.

Tier 1 exam was conducted in three shifts daily from 2 March to 9 March 2020 whereas Tier -2 exams would be held from 14 October to 17 October 2020 in multiple shifts. The tier-3 exam would be conducted for Tier-1 and Tier-2 qualified candidates and would be of descriptive nature.

Tier I

  • Tier 1 exam would comprise of 100 questions of two marks each.
  • Questions would be of matriculation level and would test candidates’ ability in quantitative aptitude, reasoning, General Awareness, and English and Comprehension.
  • Tier-1 would be a qualifying stage for appearing in Tier-2 of the examination.
  • Its scores would not be utilized for preparing the merit list.

The detailed pattern of Each Tier of the exam is mentioned below so as to provide a reference to the candidates.

Exam Mode Online (CBT)
Number of Papers 1
Number of Sections 4
Question Paper Type 100 MCQ type questions
Total Marks for Tier-1 of SSC CGL 2020 200 marks (25 marks for each section)
Exam Duration 60 Minutes /100 Minutes for VH and Cerebral palsy candidates.
Exam Language English/Hindi

Tier II 

  • SSC CGL tie 2 is a computer-based MCQ type exam.
  • Candidates would be tested for their ability and competence in handling problems from areas like quantitative ability, English, finance, and statistics which would be largely based on the Matriculation, 10+2 and graduation level (Paper 3 and Paper 4).
  • For your reference detail, a subject-wise pattern SSC CGL Tier 2 exam is mentioned below.

Paper 1 (Quantitative ability)

Number of Questions asked 100
Type of questions MCQ type
Syllabus Matriculation and 10+2 level
Time allotted 120 Minutes/160 Minutes for VH and Cerebral palsy candidates.

 Paper 2 (English and Comprehension)

Number of Questions asked 200
Type of questions MCQ type
Syllabus Matriculation level
Time allotted 120 Minutes/160 Minutes for VH and Cerebral palsy candidates.

 Paper 3 (Statistics)

Number of Questions asked 100
Type of questions MCQ type
Syllabus Graduation level
Time allotted 120 Minutes/160 Minutes for VH and Cerebral palsy candidates.

Paper 4 (Finance and Economics)

Number of Questions asked 100 (40 from finance and 60 from economics and governance)
Type of questions MCQ type
Syllabus Graduation level
Time allotted 120 Minutes/160 Minutes (for VH and Cerebral palsy candidates).

In total the exam would comprise of 4 papers of 200 marks each with a total duration of 2hours/2 hours 40 minutes (for VH and Cerebral palsy candidates).

To make candidates familiar with the exam pattern SSC type online tests and mock papers are made available on the various website. Candidates can access these tests any time by visiting the respective website. Candidates can also visit our website for updated mock and sample papers.

Tier III 

SSC Tier III Maximum Marks Time Duration
Descriptive Paper in English /Hindi 100 1 Hour

SSC CGL Tier III is Descriptive Exam, and it is conducted offline. The candidate needs to write an Essay/Letter /Precis. This is the test of candidates writing skill in Hindi/English.

  • The Time duration of Tier III is 60 Minutes.

Tier IV

SSC Tier IV Time Duration Syllabus
Computer Proficiency Test (CPT) for the post of Assistant Section Officer in CSS & MEA only 45 Minutes Word/Excel/ PowerPoint

Marking Scheme

Total marks scored by a candidate in SSC CGL 2020 (Tier 1 and Tier 2 exams) would be calculated based on the calculation of questions attempted and marks per question minus the negative marks scored by the candidate for the wrong answer. The following marking scheme is applicable for SSC CGL 2020 Tier 1 and Tier 2.

  • Every objective question would carry equal mark. Marks will be awarded if the answer is found to be correct.
  • More than one answer to a question would be treated as an incorrect answer, and no marks would be awarded in that case even if one of the marked answers is correct.
  • There would be negative marking to the tune of 1/4th of the total marks allotted for the question. Negative marks would be added while calculating the final score of a candidate.
  • In Tier-3 marking scheme would be different due to its descriptive nature.
  • Negative marking is not applicable for this Tier of the exam.
  • In regards to Tier 4, SSC has stipulated that it would be of qualifying nature only.

People are also reading:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *