List of all Presidents of India from 1950-2023

India, the world’s largest democracy, has had a series of distinguished individuals serving as the head of state since it became a republic in 1950. The President of India is the ceremonial head of state, part of the Union executive, and the commander-in-chief of the Indian Armed Forces. This role, while largely ceremonial, is pivotal in upholding the Constitution of India and its values. Here’s a look at the individuals who have served as the President of India from 1950 until 2023.

List of all Presidents of India

1. Dr. Rajendra Prasad (1950-1962)

Dr. Rajendra Prasad served as the first President of India. A key leader in the Indian Independence Movement, he was the only president to serve two terms in office.

2. Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan (1962-1967)

A distinguished philosopher and statesman, Dr. Radhakrishnan served as the second President of India and his birthday is celebrated as Teacher’s Day in India.

3. Dr. Zakir Husain (1967-1969)

Dr. Zakir Husain was the third President of India and the first Muslim to hold the office. He passed away before completing his term.

4. Varahagiri Venkata Giri (1969-1974)

V.V. Giri served as the acting president following the death of Dr. Zakir Husain and was later elected as the fourth President of India.

5. Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed (1974-1977)

The fifth President of India, Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed is remembered for his role during the Emergency declared by then Prime Minister Indira Gandhi.

6. Neelam Sanjiva Reddy (1977-1982)

Neelam Sanjiva Reddy was the sixth President of India, notable for being the only person to be elected unopposed to the office.

7. Giani Zail Singh (1982-1987)

Giani Zail Singh served as the seventh President of India and was a significant figure during the Operation Blue Star.

8. Ramaswamy Venkataraman (1987-1992)

The eighth President of India, R. Venkataraman, was known for his contributions to Indian independence and his legal background.

9. Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma (1992-1997)

Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma, the ninth President of India, was known for his tenure during the economic reforms and liberalization of the early 1990s.

10. K. R. Narayanan (1997-2002)

K. R. Narayanan was the tenth President of India and the first Dalit to hold the office, celebrated for his dedication to social justice.

11. Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam (2002-2007)

Popularly known as the Missile Man of India, Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam served as the eleventh President of India and was beloved for his contributions to science and education.

12. Pratibha Patil (2007-2012)

Pratibha Patil, the twelfth President of India, made history as the first woman to hold the office.

13. Pranab Mukherjee (2012-2017)

A veteran politician, Pranab Mukherjee served as the thirteenth President of India, known for his extensive service in various governmental capacities.

14. Ram Nath Kovind (2017-2022)

Ram Nath Kovind, the fourteenth President of India, was known for his legal background and work towards improving the conditions of marginalized communities.

15. Draupadi Murmu (2022-present)

As of the last update in April 2023, Draupadi Murmu serves as the current and fifteenth President of India, marking her position as the first tribal woman to hold the office.

Each of these presidents has contributed to the shaping of India through their service, reflecting the nation’s diversity, its values, and its democratic ethos. Their legacies continue to influence the Republic of India, guiding it towards a future of growth and development.

Leave a comment