What is Higher Secondary Education?

Class XI and XII are referred to as higher secondary, and the class XII examination is known as the Higher Secondary Certificate. In India, Higher Secondary Certificate (HSC) is otherwise called the twelfth board test, and in India, the degree of Higher Secondary Certificate (HSC) differs from state board to national Level board. State boards, for example, Rajasthan board, Madhya Pradesh board, Uttar Pradesh board, and so forth lead Higher Secondary Certificate (HSC) on the state level and National board, for example, CBSE, NIOS, and so forth. Higher Secondary Certificate (HSC) in India contains six subjects, and these subjects change from state board to national level board.

Higher Secondary Education

Toward the finish of the second stage (class X), the candidates take a lot of remotely regulated assessments from either a state or national (All-India) assessment board. The candidates who pass the secondary assessments procure a certificate normally called the Secondary School Certificate or SSC. These candidates are qualified for higher secondary school.

Also Check: What is Education?

Boards associated with HSC

Following the completion of the senior classes, i.e. the class XI and XII, the candidates are re-analyzed by their school’s affiliation authority and, if passed, are granted the Higher Secondary Certificate or HSC. There are likewise assessments directed inside by secondary schools toward the finish of class XI. A sum of 31 state boards along with 3 national boards exists in India. Higher Secondary schools and educational institutes are subsidiary to either the state board pertinent to their area or one of the national boards: 

  1. Central Board of Secondary Education Board  
  2. Council of the Indian School Certificate Examination  
  3. National Institute of Open Schooling Board  
  4. State Government Boards

Statistics related to Higher Secondary Education

The general number of candidates taking the Standard XII (Higher Secondary Certificate or HSC) in the past year was practically around 1.142 crore. More than 88 % of those candidates opted for state board with just about 11.93 % opting for the CBSE, CISCE, and NIOS boards. 

The candidates who pass the Higher Secondary assessments are qualified for college affirmations. Higher Secondary Certificates may likewise be known as: 

  1. All India Senior School Certificate  
  2. Certificate of Vocational Education
  3. Higher/Senior School Certificate/Examination 
  4. Indian School Certificate  
  5. Intermediate Examination 
  6. Pre-University Certificate 
  7. Senior Secondary Exam 

State assessments change extensively and by and large, expect candidates to be analyzed in four or five subjects. CBSE expects candidates to take five subjects that are remotely evaluated in class XII, in addition to some internally assessed subjects (like Physical Education, GST, etc.). Candidates must pass each of them to qualify for the HSC.

What after HSC?

The candidates who pass the HSC are qualified for college confirmations, albeit some specific schools or colleges require separate entrance assessments. A score of 80% in the HSSC from the state board of education may fulfill passage necessities, given that a proper standard of English has been accomplished. Candidates with high scores (75%+) from the CBSE and CISCE sheets may fulfill section prerequisites, given a suitable standard of English has been achieved. Admission to proficient disciplines (designing, engineering, medication, and so on) is through competitive examination. These incorporate the Joint Entrance Examination or JEE (Indian Institutes of Technology), the All-India. Pre-Medical/Pre-Dental Examination, and the All-India Engineering Entrance Examination. A few colleges in India are changing their three-year projects to four-year degrees (recreating the US model) which may prompt a modification of section criteria, for example, College of Delhi.

Leave a comment